• so much for vanity •

I remember when I first moved to ‘upstate’, New York, when dressing in ‘layers’, for winter, seemed abhorrent to me: “Oh, no, that might make me look, ‘puffy’!” Oy.
Nowadays, it’s Mr. Michelin Man, all the way. (Or, ‘Sir Bibendum’**, as he was originally known, if you prefer: I know what I look like, underneath.)
So what, if ‘suspenders’ are the only thing keeping my pants from falling to my feet?
It was nineteen degrees (F) out there two nights ago. ‘As long as I’m warm,’ says this South Texas boy, ‘so much the better for me.’ And so it goes.
So much for vanity.
~ Tim Burchfield
3/17/17
**((Bibendum, commonly referred to in English as the Michelin Man, is the symbol of the Michelin tire company. The slogan ‘Nunc est bibendum’ (‘Drink up’) is taken from Horace’s Odes (book I, ode xxxvii, line 1). He is also referred to as Bib or Bibelobis.))

20170317-021630.jpg

Leave a Reply

