• lacrosse •

Spent yesterday with the boy at a series of international lacrosse competitions. His team won one out of three, and even it was close; these youngsters were so good, it was amazing how well they did, in freezing rain under gray sodden skies: far better than I, under a plastic mack, in my inadequate lawn chair, singing quietly to myself, “Show me the way to go home, I’m tired and I wanna go to bed…”.
The funniest moment for me came when a referee advised a player, at a turn, that he had to allow his opponent five yards before play could resume, and the bon vivant retorts, “What’s five yards, I’m Canadian, eh?
~ Tim Burchfield
10/30/16

20161030-011812.jpg

Leave a Reply

