• word play •

• word play •
While walking the dogs, I saw several leaf bags filled to capacity. Words were on one that got me: it said, “Whew! I’m stuffed!!” Leaf bags, on Thanksgiving, pushing away from the table, deflecting Momma’s entreaties to have another leaf salad, to fall asleep in front of the T.V., enticed my thoughts, and made me grin, and then laugh. The dogs both stopped and looked back at me. “I’m stuffed!” I said. They shrugged, and moved on. I guess they’d a had’ da been there. Puppies.
At the front porch of a house along the way, a boot scraper near the door said, “Turtle Crossing”. I had to stop, me and the pups, just to let Mama Turtle trundle across our path, to see her look back with her rheumy eyes, at the rest of her clutch, ten in all, bring up the rear, as all parents do, which is to say, with infinite impatience, and growing concern, about whether dawdling is indicative of brain damage, and taking a head count, of her slower kids, as to not just which was “least likely to succeed”, but how many.
Then, as they pass, in my imagination, once again I am reminded of the power of words to incite, to inspire, and to entertain. And basically, to my mind, to make this world a better place.
The boy came in from school, and I told him about the leaf bags. He didn’t find that funny at all. I didn’t bother with the turtle crossing, he was in a mood. Oh, well. Worked for me.
Make words work for you. Inspire happiness. It’s the right thing to do.
~ Tim Burchfield
11/18/15

Leave a Reply

